Did we Create God or Did God create us???

:wink: This is my very first post here…I just wanted to test the waters on a Topic im intrested in. What does every one think. I will hold back on my beliefs until a later time, until i get a feel for what surrounds me.

My login name is self explanitory… Thats who i am, im a newbie and just always thinking…thinking about life and philosphy falls in life fairly often…at least mine. I try to examine everything…right. The unexamined life is a shortcoming.
[/quote]

To preface his reply I would just like to say that im new here too…so dont base the temp of the “waters” soley on me.
Now to your question.

Going back to what i wrote in the thread “the sould and theism” http://www.ilovephilosophy.com/phpbb/viewtopic.php?t=138106
i stated that we created god out of pure lack of comprehension…(this is sort of ironic seeing as how we created god to explain natural phenomena which was previously inexplicable yet ive heard god defined as(more irony) something which is so great it can’t be defined…so the never ending loop of things we cant explain goes on and on and on…). Humans are curious beings and we need to know what is going on around us, why things work, why they dont yadda yadda. So we strive for answers and when they dont come easily we resort to laziness a.k.a God. so we created god to please ourselves, to make our lives a little easier which is also ironic considering how many wars have been fought over religion.(whats with all this damn irony im getting sick of it)…i think thats it
have a nice day

I am a theist and I believe that God created us. Personally I think jinxed is rather wrong about religion. It fills a void that man has, yet it hardly ever makes life easier. Your outlook on life might change, but rarely life itself.