Questionable people?

I have just finished reading the aut0biography of the news reporter John Simpson, most frequently seen on the BBC reporting from some of the world’s most dangerous ‘hotspots’ during the last few decades of the 20th C.

I approached the book, as I always do, with naivety, assuming the author is truthful and should be believed in whatever he says. I read with great interest since Simpson writes entertainingly and describes a world, that of the news reporter, of which I have no experience.

He described working for the BBC, starting as a nonentity in radio and working up to being head of the BBC foreign news department, when his face was seen on TV reports from Baghdad, during the Gulf War, Afghanistan, Yugoslavia during its break-up etc. etc.

One of the things that interested and surprised me was his description of working for the BBC. I had the impression, as surely most of the British do, of the BBC as being a bit fuddy-duddy, slow and doesn’t pay well, but probably relatively benign as an employer ---- compared to its commercial competitors, that is. However, according to Simpson, an organisation which is more internally competitive would be hard to imagine. I thought I had encountered competitiveness of a high order in my working life, but this beat anything in my experience by a long way.

Similarly, but less surprisingly, he described the world of reporters as being at least as competitive as they vied to get the best stories/pictures, access to the most important people, exclusives and so on. He described some reporters taking huge, unnecessary risks, chancing their lives and cheating their colleagues to get ahead of the pack.

He also described his life of travel and some of the places he visited e.g. the Amazon to do a documentary about the Amazonian Indians — not all of his life has been spent in danger zones.