At what level does life actually begin?

I went and copied a definition of life from dictionary .com
Life: the condition that distinguishes organisms from inorganic objects and dead organisms, being manifested by growth through metabolism, reproduction, and the power of adaptation to environment through changes originating internally.

and I also grabbed metabolism because I hadn’t thought of this part.

Metabolism: the sum of the physical and chemical processes in an organism by which its material substance is produced, maintained, and destroyed, and by which energy is made available.

Ok, so they are trying to say that life begins at an organic level to the exclusion of the building blocks of organic matter due to those three processes.

Something became apparent to me at some point that made me question the definition of life. What I had noticed is that at very basic levels, matter still has needs. I’m no scientist and haven’t had any formal education pertaining to matter past high school and the occasional science program so I wont go any deeper than atoms. Still at the atomic level matter may be deficient in some way and in that it “needs” other atoms to be “content”. This is represented by elemental instability and it reacting with something else to “satify” itself. That is basically how organic organisms work, just on a higher level. That would be growth through Metabolism.

The power of adaptation to the environment through changes originating internally. The physical change of matter when a solid turns to liquid is an adaptation in one form of definition and the internal structure of the matter is what determined what would happen. the outside force initiated the adaptation, but it didn’t create the response.