PLEASURE

Hi, this is my first time posting. I am writing an essay on Mill’s claim that some kinds of pleasure are more desirable and valuable than others.

Does anyone have any thoughts on this?

thankyou in advance for any help

There are two types of pleasure I have to far realized… pleasure without guilt and pleasure with it; rational pleasure and irrational pleasure, respectivly.

Of course no one wants to do something and then go out and feel guilt about it; this means in my mind, at least that rational pleasure is more desirable than irrational.

I call rational pleasure so because it is irrational and contrary to human nature to cause harm or distruction to oneself or to another. When you find a pleasure that does neither of these things it can be experianced guilt free. However, if pleasure is derived through a destructive means guilt is almost assured, unless one has become morally numbened or has a contrary set of personal values.

I don’t know about you, but I don’t like guilt. Thus I say that guilt-free pleasure, or rational pleasure is more desirable than any other kind.

What about hedonism? i feel like if i want to do something, i will do it, regardless of the effects. if i want to sleep with a married man, i will. It is not my place to care for the morals of others. It is not me that makes the wife unhappy. She does this to herself. She is in control of her emotions, not me. Therefore, i completely disagree with your pleasure/ guilt stuff. The 2 are not tied together unless you make them that way. It is not a universal truth, it is a personal choice on your part.

of course what give pleasure is subjective to the subject. One must get inside the head of the subject. I do not know amj so I was speaking from personal experiance. For people who live by the traditional code of morality, however my point is true.